WHAT:  RD 9 of the 2020 Supercross Season
WHERE: Atlanta, GA
GEAR: Rig 9800




What a race!

Except for one racer by the name of Ken Roczen, every rider at round 9 in Atlanta’s Mercedes Benz stadium had a true fight on their hands. So much so, that the podium was still shaking itself out when the white flag waved. The end results were decided on the final lap of the 20-minute Main event with OGIO’s Cooper Webb and Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac freight training their way through Martin Davalos, who raced his best 450 Supercross of his rookie season. The likable OGIO racer Martin Davalos rounded out the top 5 with a beaten and battered CW1 taking the third and final spot on the podium. Calling Cooper Webb tough is an absolute understatement considering his injuries suffered a week prior in Arlington. The champ is here!


I wanted to give a shoutout to both Aaron Plessinger and Dean Wilson. Deano was on his way, to what could have been, his first podium of 2020 but unfortunately in the waning moments of his main event, the chaos got the best of him and he tangled with a downed racer. The ensuing mishap pushed him back to an unfortunate 10th place finish. Aaron rode a solid main event to put himself well inside the top ten when the checkers flew as he crossed the line in a respectable, 7th place spot.

With the 50th running of the Daytona Supercross next weekend and the momentum shifting to a race many consider the halfway point, this final 2020 Supercross stretch is going to be one to watch! 


450 Main Event
1. Ken Roczen (Honda)
2. Justin Barcia (Yamaha)
3. Cooper Webb (KTM) OGIO
4. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
5. Martin Davalos (KTM) OGIO
6. Justin Hill (Honda) OGIO
7. Aaron Plessinger (Yamaha) OGIO
8. Malcolm Stewart (Honda) OGIO
9. Vince Friese (Honda) OGIO
10. Dean Wilson (Husqvarna) OGIO
11. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna) OGIO
12. Justin Brayton (Honda) OGIO
Benny Bloss (Yamaha) OGIO
14. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)
15. Chad Reed (Honda)
16. Kyle Chisholm (Yamaha) OGIO
17. Adam Enticknap (Suzuki) OGIO
18. Daniel Herrlein (KTM)
19. Blake Baggett (KTM) OGIO
20. James Weeks (Yamaha)
21. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki) OGIO
22. Ryan Breece (Suzuki) OGIO



It’s safe to say Chase Sexton’s 2019 Supercross Championship was no fluke! The Geico Honda/OGIO racer has been the most consistent 250 East racer through the first 3 rounds and currently holds a 5 point lead over series rival, Shane McElrath. The top three finishers in this past weekends’ Atlanta SX are also the top 3 in overall points thus far with the very fast Rockstar Husqvarna rider RJ Hampshire currently sitting in 3rd overall. Sexton and Hampshire battled early in the 15min main event and while there has been what some considered, “dirty racing” on RJ’s part, Sexton only nudged his way past Hampshire and showed championship maturity early in his pro career.  While some thought there was going to be some retaliation on Chase’s part, it was obvious he’s looking far past any recent incidences and looking at the larger championship picture. It’s certainly not easy to defend a title and often that #1 plate is quite heavy for the less experienced 250cc racers, but Sexton is proving to show why Honda has chosen him as their future face of the HRC Honda team. 


Kudo’s go out to both OGIO racers RJ Hampshire and Shane McElrath as they certainly are not going to let Chase run away with this 250 East SX championship. Daytona is going to be an important round for this East Regional division and we could not be more excited to watch not only these racers but the rest of the class scrapping amongst themselves in Daytona next Saturday!


250 Main Event
1. Chase Sexton (Honda) OGIO
2. RJ Hampshire (Husqvarna) OGIO
3. Shane McElrath (Yamaha) OGIO
4. Jordon Smith (Kawasaki) OGIO
5. Jo Shimoda (Honda) OGIO
6. Enzo Lopes (Yamaha) OGIO
7. Garrett Marchbanks (Kawasaki) OGIO
8. Nick Gaines (Yamaha)
9. Jalek Swoll (Husqvarna) OGIO
10. Josh Hill (Yamaha) OGIO
11. Cedric Soubeyras (Husqvarna)
12. Jordan Bailey (Honda)
13. Jimmy Decotis (Suzuki) OGIO
Kevin Moranz (KTM) OGIO
15. Hunter Sayles (KTM)
16. Justin Starling (Honda) OGIO
17. Pierce Brown (KTM)
18. Grant Harlan (Honda)
19. Jeremy Martin (Honda) OGIO
20. Luke Neese (Honda) OGIO
21. Curren Thurman (KTM)
22. Lance Kobusch (KTM)



SWAP MOTO LIVE VLOG – OGIO Segment (GO TO 11min 39sec…11:39)

LINK: https://www.swapmotolive.com/life-on-two-wheels-editors-vlog-tampa-sx/videos-theater/life-on-two-wheels-vlog/


MARTIN DAVALOS – Racer X Interview

“We’re proud of our boy Martin and it looks like Racer X is, too! Enjoy a little read about OGIO athlete, Martin Davalos.”

LINK: https://racerxonline.com/2020/03/02/open-mic-martin-davalos


CLUB MX Racing – Racer X “Insight” Interview

“OGIO supported race team CLUB MX has not just turned some heads, they’ve done so by putting 3 racers in the top 10 and warranted a “check under the hood” to get a little insight on the small, yet successful, South Carolina based race team”

LINK: https://racerxonline.com/2020/02/27/insight-team-clubmx

March 02, 2020